NewMusicSA is a non-profit organisation that aims to foster a sense of community surrounding New Music in South Africa through our many special and unique events and activities such as the New Music Indaba andUnyazi festivals, the Bow Project and the Visby Residencies exchange programme. We also provide an important resource for composers and all those interested in New Music via the news and information on our Web site, in our bulletin and also in our e-newsletters.

NewMusicSA is the South African section of the International Society for Contemporary Music

NewMusicSA provides an important link to the international new music community in our role as the South African Section of the International Society for Contemporary Music and we convene an annual jury to select South African works that will be considered for performance at the ISCM’s World Music Days festival.

We are lucky to have a special link with the Gotland section of the ISCM that makes it possible for South African composers to spend time on their work at the Visby International Centre for Composers in Sweden, via our Visby Residencies exchange programme.

We run two festivals, the Unyazi festival of Electronic Music and the New Music Indaba. The Indaba’s composition workshops and masterclasses aim to develop compositional talent in South Africa and form part of our Growing Composers programme.

The Bow Project invites composers to transcribe one of Nofinishi Dywili’s performances of a traditional uhadi bow song, arrange it for mezzo-soprano and string quartet, and compose a paraphrase or reimagining of the music for string quartet alone. In concert the transcription is preceded by the original song performed by the legendary bow player and singer Madosini, and followed by the paraphrase.

Since its foundation, NewMusicSA has worked with a number of other South African music and cultural organizations, such as SAMRO, theUnisa Music Foundation and most recently theSouth African National Youth Orchestra to provide opportunities for emerging South African composers.

Past Chairs of NewMusicSA include Michael Blake (who founded the organisation), Mokale Koapeng, Christopher Walton, and Cameron Harris. The current Chair is Angie Mullins.